The Twinkie Defense

Ever since Hostess announced bankruptcy late last year, somewhere in the back of my mind was a little man panicking at the thought that one day things like twinkies and ding dongs would stop being produced. As anyone who has seen Zombieland knows, this is a terrifying notion. Not that I consume any of these in high volume (one every couple of years). But I immediately put it on my list to once more taste the unhealthy and satisfying goodness that only a twinkie and a snowball can bring.

I can now safely say . . . mission accomplished.

I haven’t had a snowball in years. Like ten of them. Nom nom nom. It was a youthful reminder of a time gone by. I was saddened that a pink set of balls, snowballs that is, could not be located at time of consumption, but what are you going to do. If the hostess world is coming to an end, I know I was able to hop on the nostalgia train for just a bit longer in an effort to savour a dying glory.

 

PS – If you want to know what the phrase, “twinkie defense”, really refers to . . . Click Here. It’s actually a sad, but amusing story. The basic jist, his lawyer said his poor diet choices of high sugar rich foods contributed to his long-term severe depression which ultimately led to his murdering folks. While meritable, still inexcusable. I haven’t killed anyone yet . . .

 

Leave a Reply

