Star Trek + Kanye West = Cellos?

 

Last Thursday evening I indulged in more culture downtown at The Old Church. And I dragged the pops too. For those who don’t know, The Old Church is Portland’s oldest church. We could tell by the lack of air conditioning too. It’s not the most ornate church of Ptown certainly, but it’s been well maintained and as wonderful acoustics. Which made it perfect for the Portland Cello Project!

The Portland Cello Project is a group of local musicians who play both traditional and contempory-adapted music for the local masses. Sometimes they play acoustic, sometimes with other instruments, always wonderful. For me it’s like a local Vitamin String Quartet. And I love that I can find things like this in Portland and it is affordable! It’s one of those things that make Portland unique and eclectic. Not to mention that I am never undressed it seems at these functions . . .

We had great seats on the side that afforded probably 80% of a good view and there was nobody else in our pew. I know that sounds greedy, but when all you do is fidget and it’s hella hot in there, you are thankful.

They played a great show, traditional music and all the way up to “contemporary composers” like Britney Spears and Kanye West. Not to mention some Pantera and a great rendition of the music from Star Trek. Me likes. And I love looking over and seeing my Dad get into the music, he gets excited. Though secretly in my head I giggle when it’s to a cello version of the song Lollipop, hehe. Shhhh, don’t tell.

Here are a couple videos from the show:

Lil’ Wayne – Lollipop

Elliott Smith!!!

Kanye West – All of the Lights

 

I highly recommend checking out the Portland Cello Project if you are in town or if the come to yours. To check out more, visit here.

Hugs, love and cellos! 

 

Leave a Reply

