Stories . . .

Everyone has a story. You. Me. Everyone. Everyone also has a purpose. To find their story. To live it. And to share in other people’s stories. I often get an overwhelming gut feeling when there are certain things I should do. And a sinking feeling when I don’t.

While driving to work today I came across an older gentleman pulled over to the side of the road. The long line of cars stopping at the stop sign ahead kept moving on their way and I too did the same. But as I turned and continued down the road I felt worse and worse and a sinking feeling that I should have stopped. I played through the scenarios about timing and possibly being late for work, but in the end, I didn’t care. I turned around in the fire station parking lot and headed back. Ironically enough, by the time I got there he had already gone, but still . . . at least I turned around.

Once I was at a restaurant and noticed a little old man sitting by himself. Throughout the evening we passed each other here and there and I could not stop looking at him nor could I get past this overwhelming feeling that I should get up, go over and say hello. In the end, all we did was wave at each other as I was leaving and I have forever regretted not doing more.

One day I was driving up to my grandparent’s house on a back road that has a small set of houses on part of it. I slowed down here and as I was driving started coming up on a driveway with a man sitting in a wheelchair at the end of it. As I got closer I decided I would wave at him as I passed by. But just as I came up on him, the funniest thing happened . . . he waved first! The sheer delight in my heart that we could both wave at each other was like no other.

Another wonderful instance of purpose and relating others is that of Beth Moore and her experience one day at the airport. I have always LOVEd this story and not because it’s Christian or not, but simply because it was helping another human being because that’s how it was meant to be.

At this point, you’re probably wondering where I’m going with this. My only point is that in life you will not want to stand in the end knowing you should have done more and trying to explain why you didn’t. Your heart is shown through your actions and each person has an amazing shiny gift to share with those around them.

 Are you sharing yours?

 

2 responses »

  1. I love this one!! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Remeber that a smile is something is something that you can share with anyone. It doesn’t cost you anything, but it gives abck in so many ways. I hope you have a wonderful week.

Leave a Reply

