The Challenge: Part 1

 

 

 

Forgive me for the picture, I just couldn’t help myself. It was too awesome to resist.

That being said, I’ve accepted a challenge. Between needing to reset myself, my metabolism still being funked up from sickness and stumbling upon Miss Jenny’s Fluffy2Fit challenge, I’ve decided that I should get back in to challenging myself. I’m not catholic and every year when Lent comes around I always hear about it belatedly, but it always sounds like an interesting idea. If you know nothing about Lent or are simply curious for further knowledge in your skull, click here.

Anywho . . . Sacrifice. I don’t really like the idea of the term sacrifice. I instead like the word replace. Instead of focusing on what you’re giving up which is sort of martyr/victim sounding, I prefer to think of replacing one habit or food or item with another. Example: Instead of thinking of it as clearing out and throwing away your beloved clutter items, instead think of it as replacing your current limited space and functionality with more opportunity and peace of mind. I have several goals in mind right now, my first being just to feel better right now. I would also really love to wear a certain dress I have this summer. That would be lovely. So, with that in mind . . .

Challenge #1: Give up pastas & unnecessary breads (sandwiches don’t count) until Easter. Always when you want to give up something, you find an amazing recipe for dish containing it. The roll with soup, the superfluous buns that come with the not-so-much-there hamburger, the pasta that I love the sound of . . . gotta go. They’re outta here till Easter! And of course, someone brings in a bread plate today at lunch. You’re kidding right? Jerk.
The reward should I succeed: Other than hopefully less attached to my bum and a more copacetic digestive system, I will get to cook THIS amazing recipe of spinach and ricotta stuffed shells I found on Whole Living (a Martha sub-site). Yum!

Challenge #2: Go Where The Church-Going Folk Go. On my list for 2011, I set forth the goal to go to church every Sunday for month. I have decided to begin on the 27th of March and to go through Easter Sunday. I have yet to decide where I will attend. I really like the church up the street from me, they’re smaller and their main worship room is a circular shape which is kind of homey feeling. But alas, it is a Lutheran church and I sort of feel odd being there in that I was raised Methodist. Like I’m secretly cheating. Not that He really cares, but still. I could also use the opportunity to investigate other churches in the area, but then again, that requires driving. And the big one downtown is a pain to get in and out of. We’ll see.
The reward should I succeed: Other than spiritual and soul enlightenment? Checking off that goal? A hug? A handshake and a smile perhaps?

Challenge #3: Walk Boo at least once a day. This should be a given, but I like to put it down formally. And it’s a challenge to get my butt to move further than your average bear. This challenge will be ongoing, but I am putting a minimal deadline of at least 3 weeks.
The reward should I succeed: A better bum and a happy dog!

Challenge #4: Swim at least once a week. I have a gym membership. Every month, like clockwork, I pay for it. And yet, I often find myself not taking full advantage of this. This . . . is . . . dumb. And since I love swimming so much and want to get back into it, this is the perfect goal. I’m thinking of picking a day and a time that I have to stick to. Like Wednesday evenings. I hate going to the gym when every once else is there. Begging for a convenient parking spot like a dog for a piece of bacon. Mmm bacon. And I think it’s horrendous to have to negotiate with some other non-swimmy-swimmer who thinks arbitrary taking-uppage of the lane is ok. Secretly, in my mind, I’m beating you up with a foam bat said person. But alas, whine whine whine, bitch bitch bitch, just do it already.
The reward should I succeed: Other than swimmy swimmy splashy splashy? Getting back to swimmer’s arms and more water intake! Oh, and the hot tub. Oh yeah.

 

So there you have it, my goals for the next month or so. Nothing spectacularly earth shattering, but I know they will lead good places! What are your goals this month?

 

 

4 responses »

  1. Wow, four challenges…you go on with your bad self! Haha.

    Good luck on each one of your challenges, I know you can do it! I know temptation is all around you…(damn you, bread and pasta, why do you have to taste soooo good!), but your reward of Spinach and Ricotta stuffed shells even motivates me.

    Good luck!

  2. Thanks so much for the encouragement!!! I’m sure the temptation will lesson, especially with discovering new yummy goodness!

  3. Thanks so much for stopping by Ryan! And way to go with keeping up with your challenge despite steak cutting temptation and hammy goodness all around!

Leave a Reply

