Ten On Tuesday

 

1. How did your parents decide on your name?
I’m not really sure. I doubt there’s a fantastical story behind it, my name was the was the most popular girl’s name the year I was born.

2. Do your initials (First, Middle, Last) spell out anything fun/funny?
Not really, though I’ve used it a lot in life because I think it sounds professional. I like that.

3. Did you take your middle name from childhood or did you take your maiden name as your middle name? (If unmarried, what do you plan to do?)
Not married and have no idea. I’ve debated about it for a long time because I’m the last of my family with the name. It’s kind of sad. Not real sure about the whole hyphen thing though. “Would you want to go through your whole life with the name Cooper Banks-MacKenzie? This kid’s going to sound like a law firm.”

4. Are you or will you name your children thematically (ie. same first letter, all of same origin…)
You mean my not in existence, theoretical children that may or may not never happen? No. I can see possibly the same origin concept, but the letter themes kind of annoy me. It’s cute for five seconds before turning stupid. And don’t even ask me about names like Apple or Cookie . . .

5. Did you decide on baby names as a little girl? Did you stick to them or change your mind?
Not really decide, haven’t even decided on the baby itself. I have ones I like, even stronger, I have ones I dislike.

6. Does your family have any names that have been passed down through generations?
I don’t know. I thought about continuing my middle name of the men in the fam if I ever had a son, Lee. Thank heavens they didn’t think about it with me, otherwise I’d be Jenny-Lee. Like Bobby-Lee. I don’t think I could handle that. Just not for me . . .

7. Do you look at the meaning of the name or just the name itself?
I guess both. I don’t really want to be so attached to a name and not know it means baby poo or something.

8. Do you name pets with human names (Sally, Henry) or with pet names (Fluffy, Mr. Bo Bo)?
My dog’s name is Boo. Not because I wanted her to be all cutesy, but because I really wanted to name her Boog, but felt it slightly potentially insulting since Boog was male. I compromised. And with Boo, depending on my mood, I can alter it to things like Boog, Boogie or Boohoo. Fluffy or Mr BoBo, I think not.

9. Are there any names that you have an affinity or dislike for based on a childhood experience/someone you once knew?
Breanna, Jessica, Brian, Ryan. These were all super common when I was younger and often affiliated with snob or jerk faceyness. Not that I hold that over now, just saying.

10. What are some of your favorite names? Why?
I love the names Michael and Andrew. They always seemed simple and true. Girls names were always a little more interesting. I like more exotic girls names that not everybody and their daughter had. Still figuring that one out . . .

Leave a Reply

