Thingy Things: Part Deux

  

After all the ridiculous snow and rain and golf ball hail, I wake this morning to find sunshine. Glorious, heavenly sunshine. Vundabar! It’s such a nice change of pace. Today I will endeavor to take the puppydog on a big long hike, take a shower, do loads of laundry, clean!, perhaps cook something yummy and perhaps go downtown to see the flash mob freeze. Oh yeah baby. But first, I write some more thingy things . . .

 

Am I Boring or Just Different?: I have a small select group of friends. Not because I don’t give a darn about others and not because I’m a recluse that looks like the wolf lady in hiding. Instead because I don’t do a ton of group activities beyond work and I don’t “party”, “go clubbin”, or “bar hop”. I don’t think I’m going to find the person I’m suppose to be with at these places. Instead I will find a 20-something alcoholic, frat boy, or groping douche. Does this make me an outcast or just different? Am I the only 25 year old out there that is missing the “let’s dance!” gene? Maybe I’m just old before my age has caught up. I love my job, I get out with my dog, I love to cook, sitting at home having a movie-thon, going to a concert or a show sounds deliciously fun and I am single. I worry about that last part. Not because I think single-dom is bad. In fact, it has been my choice. But I often fluster myself with the worry-wart-ness of wondering if my life is this way because I’m single or have I built my life this way to be single. As well as, when does “this long” become “too long”? I’m certainly nowhere nearing the spinsterish cat-lady syndrome. Certainly not. But it’s still a genuine concern.

Politcal Vendetta: I don’t generally politically rant, or at least try to avoid it in this forum for the sheer fact that I’d hate to piss someone off or alienate an awesome reader for the sheer fact that our views differ. However, there are a few things I am willing to soapbox about: A) having the correct fitting bra!; B) the importance of natural self-sustaining eco-systems; C) knowing that bigger does not have to equal schlumpy; D) the importance of one’s own self-worth and passion; and finally E) the importance of reproductive health. I will try to keep my rant-age down, GingerMandy did plenty for me, but I will briefly touch on the importance of such a place. Most people think Planned Parenthood and then link it with abortion in the same though, or at least a lot seem to. And while this procedure is legal, and often necessary (cases of rape or molestation, a mal-formed child in the womb, the egg developing outside of the uterus, etc etc), I would also beg to draw your attention to other services they provide. Whether you like it or not, kids are having sex. And at younger and younger ages. And whether you choose to admit it or not, parents still don’t want to have “the talk” with their youngsters, let alone provide them with any sort of armor for the real world to come. To have a place where a 16 year old can get a condom without shame or embarrassment because she feels that being safe is important, that’s a necessity. Saying it’s bad-don’t do it and then keeping your fingers crossed is unrealistic. And for those not pleased with the teenage route, I draw your attention to the adults. A year ago I was over the age of 21, self-employed, and without insurance. I could not afford to go see a doctor, I could barely afford what I had. But I know the importance of maintaining reproductive health and the fact that a place like Planned Parenthood was there with open doors was a life saver. I was able to stay up-to-date with pelvic exams, speak with them about medical concerns and have the option for various kinds of birth control to find one that would work for me if needed (they are not all the same). I may not want to have kids in my lifetime, but I want to know whether or not I have the option. I have a friend who had painful cysts on her ovaries and the thought of dealing with this with no insurance and nobody else to turn to breaks my heart. But thousands do. The cost of an IUD, one of the best long-term forms of birth control, is over $1000. With the help of planned parenthood, it can be free for those who qualify. They also provide STD tests and cancer screenings, all of which have a higher survival rate with early detection. You don’t have to like everything, but to think that they do not help or are an abomination is ignorance. The house just voted to bar federal funding to Planned Parenthood because they have a vendetta against the abortion topic, despite the fact that their specific funding goes to general health services, not abortions. Every woman has the right to choose, but more than that she has the right to be healthy, no matter her economic status. Please think about it next time you vote, or if you want to do more, check out Planned Parenthood, donate and/or sign their petition against federal funding cuts that put men and women at risk.  

Also, check out the video below of the California representative woman who challenged the house’s vote:

 

Pass-a-porta: I finally saved enough money to get my passport! I’m so excited! I know I know, it was supposed to be spread out throughout the year, but I just couldn’t help myself. It is one of those things that I so very much wanted in my arsenal. I don’t know why, it’s not like I’m going anywhere for awhile, but now I can at least have the option. It gives one the potential for international status, hehe.

My Favorite Mens: I heart Forest Whitaker. Just like I heart Denzel Washington. (Who doesn’t?) And I’m deliciously thrilled to see both of these men more present in the acting world again. Denzel in the Book of Eli and Unstoppable (can’t stop watching) and I’m so elated to say, Forest Whitaker in the new Criminal Minds spin-off. I was dearly hoping they’d do it when the show featured the other team for an episode or two as sort of a hint, a’la NCIS and NCIS: Los Angeles. This makes me happy. There’s something about Forest Whitaker that’s endearing. His face, the sound of his voice that’s warmly passionate and realistic, his huggable nature. And oh by the way, his first big break was a scholarship as an operatic tenor. Booyah. And while you’re at it, also check out Jeneane Garofalo in the show too. So happy to see her back and in something dynamically different!

Well, seeing as it is beautiful out and almost noon, I suppose I should go do something productive in my further effort to do nothing this weekend. I wish you all a beautiful one. Hugs & Love!

 

2 responses »

    • Love! Thanks for reading. Can’t wait to see you guys tomorrow!

      I’m irritated at the political red-drape that seems to be strangling the system more and more as of late.

      And thanks! I knew you could understand the excitement my world-traveling friend 😉

Leave a Reply

