NMM: New Music Monday!

Happy New Music Monday!

 

Back to the grind ladies and jellyspoons. I hope you all had a stupendous rain filled with laughter, fun times and maybe even a little less rain than we. I”m happy to report that through my adventures this weekend, I came across some new, some old and all good new tunes.

 

 

Fitz  & The Tantrums – Money Grabber
First up, my fav new music pick. I can’t get enough of this song. It’s like motown meets new. It’s tap-your-foot delicious!

 

 

Sharon Jones – This Land Is Your Land
Of course you know this song and of course it holds a scoach of nostalgia for me. But I love her soulful voice. And this acoustic version has a great feel.

 

 

 Sad Brad Smith – Help Yourself
I love this simplicity of this song. The easy going melody and harmonies, it’s sweet and lovely. It makes me feel good. Sort of sounds like if Elliott Smith and Mumford & Sons had a musical love child. And for bonus points, can you pick up some of the not often used instruments in the song?

 

 

Elliott Smith – Miss Misery
Speaking of Elliott Smith, oh how I hear your musical genius and miss your musical influence. Especially in Oregon. This song is an oldy but goodie. I chose the acoustic version because I like an artist who sounds original and organic. And if you like it, you should also check out Angel In The Snow from the Up In The Air soundtrack.

 

 

 Thom Yorke – Hearing Damage
And for those of the Radiohead persuasion (heart), here’s a little new wave love thrown your way!

 

 

Sia – My Love
The romantic in me couldn’t help myself . . .  

 

 

 Well, my lovely peeps, I hope you found at least a little something you like. Happy monday loves!

 

 

Leave a Reply

