Reverb10: Days 23 – 26

 

Of course, due to my general pale laziness, I now find myself playing quick catch up on Reverb postings from the last couple holi-days. I know, shame shame. But I am committing to making the last ones on time each day this week!

 

Day 23:  New Name
Let’s meet again, for the first time.
If you could introduce yourself to strangers by another name for just one day, what would it be and why?

Ok, I confess . . . I’ve been avoiding this post because I had no idea what to write. A new name? I like my name just fine though. It suits me. Then I thought about it a little more and my saucy creativity kicked in. I would spend a day as Jessica Rabbit. It’s silly and I don’t care. She exudes sex appeal and saucy intelligence while still loving her man best of all. That would be amazing. And the heels, bonjour!

 

Day 24:  Everything’s OK
What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright?
And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead?

This one is tricky for me, but not in the way you might think. I have always felt a calm sense in me that knows that everything is part of a plan and will be alright. Call it what you want, but I suppose after hitting rock bottom early in life, I know that it only gets better. There’s so much beauty to behold and love to share, how could it not be? I think a moment that showed me that everything would be alright this year would be when I broke up with an ex after almost a year together. It was sad yes, did I miss that person sure. But it wasn’t right for me and staying together for the sake of comfort is not something I will ever be good at. I would rather be alone and happy than together and miserable. But the flood of relief that ensued and the joy I’ve felt inside since in getting to know myself truly tells me it was the right decision for me. I take this lesson with me into the new year in several ways . . . it tells me I was right to take the time for me to get to know myself. It also tells me to follow my gut and my heart. And it tells me to have faith and take my time.

 

Day 25: Photo
Sift through all the photos of you from the past year.
Choose one that best captures you; either who you are, or who you strive to be.
Find the shot of you that is worth a thousand words.
Share the image, who shot it, where, and what it best reveals about you.

  

 

So I cheated, I couldn’t pick one. Epic fail and I don’t care. Rather than picking one photo, I’m picking one theme. All of these are moments when I felt lovely and at peace this year. When I wasn’t worried and was doing things that made me happy. All were taken by me. The upper left was taken at the Botanical Garden in Washington DC. I spent the day walking around the museums and I was so happy to be at this place because I finally had made it when it was open. It was everything I knew it would be. The upper right was taken on the train back from NYC to Philly. The day was really turbulent and hadn’t been what I thought, yet I couldn’t complain. In the bottom of the pic I’m wearing a pin from The Met. I would’ve spent all day there! Due to the day’s events, I followed my gut and opted to come home early. It was the best decision I would’ve made. And I love trains! More trains please! The lower left was taken at a lake in the gorge. I had been wanting to go for months and it was a perfect morning. Just Boo and I walking around and having fun. And finally, the lower left was taken in Bend when I took my yearly random excursion. The air was warm and yummy. I had left mid-day, something most people would have bawked at, but it got me to the high desert museum just in time to get half off the entry fee and to walk at my own pace and see what I wanted. It was perfection. I think all of these reveal when I’m at my best . . . outside, travelling and following my gut.

 

Day 26: Soul Food
What did you eat this year that you will never forget?
What went into your mouth & touched your soul?

Barefoot’s Moscato wine. Sweet and delicious. NYC Cheesecake. You can’t beat it. No flavored fluff, just pure orgasm in your mouth. My apple pie. It was the first I ever had made and it was superb. I will forever chase the wonderful high of this pie. The Smiley Miley pizza from Pizza Oasis.  Despite my bootyliciousness, I think I need to eat more in the new year. And not just more, but differently. I would like to try some new things. And cook some new things. I want to eat to feed hunger, but also the soul. I want to be fully aware of each bite and to know each morsel. I find this to be a definitely acceptable goal to be achieved.

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

