Reverb10: Day 20

 

Day 20: Beyond Avoidance
What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing?
(Bonus: Will you do it?)

 

I find it particularly shame trainish to have been avoiding my Reverb post about avoiding. That’s just sad. But I suppose the only way to get over the hump though is to do it. So here I go!

Things I’ve avoided this year (besides blogging):

 

  • Budgeting – Really, who likes budgeting? I consider myself fairly Type A ( I love list making, I’m pretty logic brained) and yet, I’ve never really made a budget let alone truly committed to stick with it. I feel like I have finally discovered part of the fault in my past attempts though . . . I was never working towards a goal. Before I set a budget under this vague concept of “to save money”. But I never really established a goal, a why to all of the saving. I’ve since remedied this issue. I’ve set up a budget for myself and mini goals as well as big ones to accomplish so it doesn’t all feel like this random effort without a point.
  • Health – Who the hell doesn’t avoid this? Again though, I feel like in the past I’ve made it this hugely vague concept, “to be healthier”. I’ve never put it into specific goals, like to cook three meals a week at home – to see a nutritionist – to walk this many times a week, etc etc. I have since set small goals to make this task more conceivable: To see a nutritionist by June, to cook three meals a week at home (also helps with the above task), to walk Boo on a big walk at least twice a week.
  • Letting Go – This a difficult one for me because it’s an emotional concept rather than a physical control one. To let go, to release yourself, to release others. It takes emotional effort. But I’ve come to the realization that in not releasing, I’m doing nothing but holding myself back from the potential of something better because it’s known and therefore comforting. That’s nice and dandy, except it doesn’t help you to move forward. And that’s just a shame. They say if you’re brave enough to say goodbye, life will reward you with a new hello. I’m ready for a new hello.

 

Leave a Reply

