Reverb10: Day 16

 

Day 16: Friendship
How has a friend changed you or your perspective on the world this year? Was this change gradual, or a sudden burst?

 

This is probably one of the most difficult ones thus far for me. I had a friendship dramatically change this year and it is something I am still coming to terms with. I tend to be a no-nonsense and straight forward person. While I believe in caring for someone’s feelings and being, I have a general policy of not sugar-coating something or stepping on eggshells. I feel like being honest shows respect for someone. This life concept can become difficult when you are interacting with those that aren’t like this or are incredibly sensitive to the world and reality outside of their own. Some people get exposed to the outside world and it’s sadness and withdraw to their bubble. Others choose to move forward. When these two meet, it can be tricky. I have a lovely friend that is full of humor and fun. She has a good heart, but unfortunately, as I moved forward into what I felt like was my life, she stayed the same. I hear this is inevitable with some friends,  but it is a first for me. When what used to click or be acceptable no longer meshes, it can tear a soul. But I also learned that there is only so much of this that I can control myself. The rest is someone else and that’s not of my doing.

I learned from another friend not to give up. That if you care, you’ll still find a way to get together after a year and have it be the same as always with hugs and smiles and laughter and love.

All in all, though difficult, these are good lessons to learn . . . to let go and to still have love in your heart.

 

Leave a Reply

