Reverb

 

 

Reverberate: noun;  To be returned, echoed or reflected repeatedly

 

Reverb 10: 30 December days of relection in an effort to ring in the new year right. Though 8 days into it, I stumbled on to Reverb 10 and decided to participate. While boat loads are doing it . . . some to say they did, some to show they did, some to just do . . . I’m doing it I think just for me. I love exercises like this because they make you think. And hopefully, once you’re done thinking, you feel glad. Be in the happy.

So in an effort to make up for the last 8 days, bear with me here . . .

 

 

Day 1: One Word 
Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word.
Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

Change. I think change would be my word for this year. I think I’ve made an effort to feel more complete for myself this year than I ever have before. The year started with revamping my attitude and commitment towards my job and getting rid of unnecessary baggage. Somewhere in the middle I started to make The List and started to truly live for me. All of the things I wanted to do and complete, things I had held myself back from. I feel like I shed that stigma that it wasn’t doable without someone else and just starting doing. I would say I’m finishing the year with excitement. I can’t wait to see what the new one brings! I hope my word for next year is Love. Not necessarily love of someone else (though that’d be lovely), but more for my and falling back in love with the life I want to live for me.

 

Day 2: Writing
What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing – and can you eliminate it?

Ya know, I think this answer has two parts for me. Part of it is getting back into the habit, and part of it is having essentially been without a computer at night during my off time. I’ve gotten the latter part solved now and my brand new shiny laptop is on its way! I also need to just get back in the habit of writing down my thoughts. I use to also keep pen and paper handy as I went to help keep ideas from escaping. I’ve replaced pen and paper for phone and notepad.

 

Day 3: Moment
Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors).

One night I went to the movies alone and sat through three movies that I had really, really wanted to see. And all of them were pretty emotionally charged. I remember the last movie sent me over the edge, but in a really beautiful way. I walked out of the theater snuggled in my wool coat, tears streaming, yet with a smile on my face. It had just rained so the air was cool, crisp and clean. And I just remember this warm feeling pulsing through my body like there was so much beauty to behold and everything would be ok. I couldn’t help but cry for the beauty of everything.

 

Day 4: Wonder
How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year?

I would say I did pretty well at this over the past year. I think the best way to cultivate is to see and try new things in life. And to visit favorite places. Some of my favorite “wonder moments”: Kayaking for the first time ever and experiencing that new sensation in water, visiting Washington DC again – walking through the flutterby garden and seeing them float by – FINALLY being able to go inside the botanical garden and sitting and listening to the water, returning to NYC and going to the Met, taking train rides to exciting new places and being unafraid of what I’m becoming.

 

Day 5: Let Go
What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why?

I think this is a good one to finish up this current post with. The answer would be control. I let go of being in control.
I took the chance to experiment and do things differently to see if things could be different.
I let go of men for the sake of comfort and being afraid of what it would be like without one.
I let go of 150 (almost) things I don’t need around my house that were bogging me down and taking up space.
I let go of being afraid of money. Whether or not I like it, money makes a fair amount of the world go ’round. And THEY seem to like it if you have an eensy bit of credit history. So I got myself a budget and I got me some o’ that. I think I’ve always had this secret fear of financial ruin. But I’m trying to teach myself that it doesn’t have to be that way if you’re smart about it and are buying for good reasons when you have the money or, at the very least, a good plan with a little leeway just in case.
I let go of a lot of my anger and resentment towards those who came before. And towards myself. It does nothing but mar your own soul.
And to sign off with the silly, most recently I let go of 3 or 4 inches of my hair. I needed the change!

 

Hugs & Love!

 

 

Leave a Reply

